Combine alternative hip hop, r&b, and a healthy dose of rhythm & blues, and you get Anhayla’s latest mixtape entitled If I Was.

Hailing from Richmond, Va, Anhayla Stanley was originally born in Norfolk and began singing as early as a five years old in church. As stated on her website, “music was a childhood friend she kept throughout adulthood.”

Anhayla is a multi-talented artist as she composes, writes, and records soulful music that will touch a wide array of listeners. This mixtape offers 13 tracks released last December 2012.

Right Where I Should Be welcomes the ears with sultry r&b tunes that perfectly prepares the overall vibe of the album.

The singer’s appreciation for catchy upbeat tunes drives the sound of Bad Mothalover. Her lush, throaty vocals is an essential element that serves as the foundation of this piece.

Taking a slower and stripped-down approach, Somebody Else is a soothing acoustic piece that’s a perfect ideal music. A personal favorite, U.G.LY. talks about loving your true self. The track also incorporates acoustic guitar play-ups but in a faster and edgier approach.


If I Was compiles the best of Anhayla, encapsulating great music into a one-of-a-kind sonic collection. So download, press play, and let this great voice mesmerize your ears.

Track list:
1. Right Where I Should Be
2. Bad Mothalover
3. If i Was (I think I love you)
4. Drank feat Chase N. Cashe (Remix)
5. Make Me Feel
6. Vegas Lights
7. Somebody Else
8. U.G.L.Y.
9. Nobody’s Business feat. TSoul (Remix)
10. Wait For You
11. Turn on the Lights (Remix)
12. Nobody’s Perfect (Remix)
13. Doomsday

Related Links:
Anhayla’s Official Website
Anhayla on Twitter
Anhayla on Facebook