Graham Wright: The Lakes Of Alberta

From the lakes of Alberta, comes a one-of-a-kind EP that’s set to warm our hearts on a season colder than your average heartbreak. The EP in question is the aptly titled The Lakes of Alberta, which harkens back to the Canadian roots of singer Graham Wright. A musician and a broadcaster who’s also part of the Tokyo Police Club, Wright proves that he’s alright by himself in this 2008 collection.

Ain’t No Love: EP

Ain't No Love, an electro hiphop quartet join forces to issue some body moving and edgy music in their self-titled EP. Labeled by some as 'Renegade Pop' or simply 'exciting', this Toronto-based group consists of Liam Clarke (Love Thy Brother), Roly Broere (1990), Elias McBean (Beanz), and Saidah Bowen (Saidah Conrad). The group has already shared the stage with renowned artists such as Iggy Azalea, Rockie Fresh, Steve Aoki, Calvin Harris, and Redman.

The Box Tiger: The Box Tiger

Upbeat, exciting and energetic. Those words best describe Toronto's The Box Tiger, an indie rock quartet first started back in 2009. Although fairly new in the game, they've managed to release more than just good debut and has garnered an impressive amount of listeners despite being only 2 years old. Led by founder and frontwoman Sonia Sturino, the band has an inherent maturity both in their sound and instrument playing. Many of the songs included in this self-titled EP are well-constructed, not to mention very catchy.

Sunclef: The TesserAct

The TesserAct might just be one of the best collections of the hip-hop drenched, head banding and finger tapping electronic beats, spicy synths, and some mind blowing electro sounds with just a touch of crunchy jazz and funk influence in all the right places, I have seen in a long while. The album is a solo debut from a talented Toronto based musician Sunclef who, with his minimal yet surprisingly powerful tunes, brings us what is extremely hard to find amidst the many thousands of electronic releases out there - quality production.