Deep Elm is a great indie record label and with over 120 releases in it’s catalog it is quickly securing a reputation of the most reliable source of quality independent recordings. From time to time the label releases free samples of their music available for download for 30 days at a time. “EMO IS AWESOME / EMO IS EVIL” is the label’s newest sampler of some of the hardcore indie rising stars. If you like hard-rock, this compilation might be a great way for you to discover some new artists. If you are not a big fan, don’t be afraid to try something new – the album has it’s lighter moments and the lyrics might surprise you very pleasantly (+ it is free after all :P).

Our EMO IS AWESOME / EMO IS EVIL 2 sampler is packed with 15 songs (56 minutes) from all of our new releases PLUS some Deep Elm classics as well. This is version 2 of our Hottest Selling Sampler Ever and it again delivers the intense combination of emotional songwriting, heartfelt lyrics and moving live performance often referred to as “emo.” Whether you think emo is awesome or evil, you can’t deny it’s all bloody good.


“Fifteen songs from the rising stars of the melodic hardcore underground, the best are represented on Emo Is Awesome / Emo Is Evil. Intelligent, poetic noise that comes from the anger and energy of punk rock. You feel the drums and banshee guitars kicking out in adrenalin overdrive. Deep Elm has reason to be proud of its commitment to this genre because the strain they offer is a purer, more virulent, more dangerous strain than any of the other slow clowns being labeled emo.”

Culture Bunker

“It’s a wonder why anyone else bothers with compilations when Deep Elm are the masters of the mix tape. There’s certainly nothing to complain about on Emo Is Awesome / Emo Is Evil. Powerful energy fueled by beaten guitars and pure rock fury. For yet another stunner of a compilation, look no further…”

Rock Sound

01. Burns Out Bright – “Watership Down” from the album Distance And Darkness
02. Lock And Key – “2nd Quarter Broken” from the album No Fate
03. Slowride – “Panther 1” from the album Building A Building
04. Sounds Like Violence – “You Give Me Heartattacks” from the album The Pistol
05. Fire Divine – “Reputation Outlives Application” from the album It’s All A Blur
06. Planes Mistaken For Stars – “Staggerswallowswell” from the album Appleseed Cast / PMFS / Race Car
07. Benton Falls – “Trial And Terror” from the album Guilt Beats Hate
08. Brandtson – “You Do The Science” from the album Death & Taxes
09. Desert City Soundtrack – “Drawn And Quartered” from the album Funeral Car
10. Surrounded – “On Top Of The World” from the album Safety In Numbers
11. Settlefish – “Blindfold The Leaves” from the album Dance A While, Upset
12. Appleseed Cast – “Marigold & Patchwork” from the album The End Of The Ring Wars
13. Camber – “Expat” from the album Wake Up And Be Happy
14. Red Animal War – “When I Get The Feelin'” from the album Black Phantom Crusades
15. Sounds Like Violence – “Perfect” from the album The Pistol

Related Links:
Deep Elm’s Website
Deep Elm on MySpace