When emerging indie artists collaborate into a pristine musical project, you can only expect nothing but the best.

Produced by Weathervane Music and WXPN in Philadephia, Shaking Through: Selected Tracks Volumes 1 & 2 is part of a documentary series that shows the birth song of 10 indie bands each year. This particular album is a selection from well loved tracks from the first two installments.

Sharon Van Etten’s Love More sets the mood with ethereal vocals that reaches in your core and let you feel each particle, sound, and instrument. Set with ambient instrumentations, the NY-based singer/songwriter serenades you with a voice that is hard to be unloved.

Following with a dream pop aesthetic, Meet the Frownies by Twin Sister is the perfect sound for shaking off some bad vibes. Yeah Yeah Yeahs might just step back as this five-piece band conquers the stage with its supremely tuneful and charming songs.

Hezekiah JonesBorrowed Heart treats the listeners with a mouthful of tasty folk progressive music. Potent lyricism paired with charming guitar play-up is just too good to be left unheard.

Fluttering with mystic keys and heart-pounding drum beats, Heavy Love by Dreamers of the Ghetto is as edgy and sexy as it gets. This ambient alternative rock band is the perfect companion for a chill-out Friday night. Family Band’s Again, on the other hand, features polished melodies that’s ready to hit the radio waves. Press play and devour in this folk rock gem.

A personal favourite, Curfews by Snowmine sparks in your ears with hooking beats and poetic verses. Close your eyes as its upbeat and tribal arrangement transports you to psychedelic universe.

All in all, Shaking Through: Selected Tracks Volumes 1 & 2 is a beautifully-conceived collection that succeeds in quality and diversity. It’s a moving set that’s brilliant enough to be rated five stars.

Related Links:
Weathervane Music’s Official Website
Weathervane Music on Bandcamp
Weathervane Music on Vimeo
Weathervane Music on YouTube