The Fumes: Unhandled Exception

Remember Blues Clues and that striped sweater wearing guy named, Steve? Well, this isn't him (although he's actually a musician too) but I imagine, The Fumes, could have easily played the part of the guitar wielding Steve in the show. One listen to Unhandled Exception and you'll probably see/hear it too. This guy churns out acoustic folk pop cuts that immediately made me picture children sitting around on a park with the singer at the center and singing along to his music. Now, this can either be good or bad depending on your taste, but personally some songs in this acoustic folk pop record are worth a listen.

Derek Clegg: Across Town

Making his 5th appearance here at the Frostclick blog, Derek Clegg is back with his sixth official release. Across Town is a 12-track record from the master of acoustic folk pop. Like most of his previous albums, it resonates with a cozy feel that makes you think of heartfelt folk pop songs you can easily play on your guitar on a lazy afternoon. With several great quality compilations in tow, it's hard to believe that Derek remains independent. A one-man band manning the songwriting, recording, and producing of his records; the guy is one tough act to follow. Some of his previous releases include It Seems As Though, Beautiful World, Here Comes Your Fate, Quick Duck and KJC.

Bomb The Music Industry!: Vacation

Known not just for their upbeat indie rock offerings but also for their ethos, Bomb The Music Industry! is back with their latest record - Vacation. Abbreviated as BTMI!, the group has been together for some time. They've released several records and are known to be firm believers of distributing their own music. Following their DIY credo, the guys distribute their music for free and are known to perform only for a general audience while not charging more than $10 for the ticket price. With their mix of punk, pop and fun indie rock; Vacation is impressing both fans and new listeners alike. Take a listen.

Heart-Sick Groans: Look?!?!?! These Three Painters of Hits Have Done It Again!

Heart-Sick Groans is a lovely, and a rather unique, band from Sundsvall, Sweden. Formed back in 2007, the trio has already been called by numerous blogs as "one of indie-pop's best kept secrets"; and with their fresh, highly addictive guitars, whistles, drums, harmonica, weaved into the wonderfully blissful sounds of summer, it might just be true. The recently released Look!!! These Three Painters of Hits Have Done It Again! (got to love the title), is a long awaited follow up to the band's previous two hit EP's and is currently offered as a free/pay what you wish download. So give it a try!

Daniel and the Lions: Kowalskiy’s Free Monthly Scottish EP #13

Kowalskiy is an independent Scottish music blog that specializes in compiling free music and releasing them into free EPs. The name is derived from the infamous character played by Marlon Brando in A Streetcar Named Desire, a 1947 film about culture clashes. As its name suggest, EP#13, is the 13th EP released from the music blog. It gathers 5 tracks from different, very talented local artists. Exploring different genres, the short EP features songs that range from alternative grunge to indie pop and even a Scottish acoustic folk track. It's a great vehicle to discover new sound and the best part is that it's offered absolutely free.

Modifythevan: Welcome to Modifythevan

Released about two years ago, Welcome to Modifythevan is still a great compilation folk pop lovers will enjoy. Judging from the great roster this creative commons netlabel supports, you're bound to enjoy something from this record. The label is owned by Robin Grey, who has been featured in our Frostclick blog for his other effort, I Love Leonard Cohen. Composed of several artists and their music; this special album takes 10 tracks from Ben Oliver, Blue Swerver, Johnny Berliner, Madelaine Hart and Richard Godwin, in addition to Grey. The album creates a beautiful mix of folk pop, melodic music you'll love to have running on your player.

Young & Research II: Tough Love Sampler

Young & Research II gives you a great teaser on what to expect from the more than 5 year old record label, Tough Love. The compilation takes 13 tracks from the London-based label and compiles them to create one amazing record. It's been an exciting year for the label so far, they managed to release two of their first full LPs from Girls Names and Cymbals. They also gathered up an awesome set of tracks for Young & Research II. Most of the songs featured in the album include exclusives as well as brand new recordings from various artists. You'll find plenty of great new bands to like in this one.

Adult Swim: Singles

We all know or at least heard of Adult Swim as adult-oriented cable television that shares air time with Cartoon Network; not everyone, however, knows them for releasing some sweet free music. As part of their more recent projects, Adult Swim has decided to put together a compilation, 8 singles over 8 weeks that would blend together some great artists from genres as diverse as folk, pop, hip-hop, metal, and a touch of electronica.

William Nein: Homeless

Although he may not be a household name yet, William Nein has already managed to release six records under his belt. Every single one is available as a free download including this 2010 acoustic delight, Homeless. Nein is a London, UK based musician who likes to frequent upstate New York. His songs are evocative of fleeting emotions; beautifully capturing something that is slowly slipping away whether it's a person, thing, or emotion. Armed with an acoustic guitar and some crazy oft-melodic-yet-sometimes-high-pitched-singing; this is certainly an interesting record to check out.