Cartoon Network’s adult-oriented segment, Adult Swim, has often used music projects to promote the brand and collaborate with artists over the last few years. One of the birth children of this initiative is Garage Swim, a compilation of tracks from some of Garage Rock’s most recognizable indie figures. The result is a fun, diverse 52 minutes of dirty guitars and lo-fi delight.

Dregs’ “Bass Drum of Death” is a crunchy, almost filthy album opener. “Devil Again” brings an upbeat, kick-everything-in-sight kind of offering by Thee Oh Sees. Black Lips, almost expected to be in a compilation like this, get things crazy and surfy with “Cruising“. King Khan follows up with a somewhat more nuanced approach in “Discrete Disguise“, only to see the album go back to a straight rock-pounding affair with Mind Spiders’ “They Lie“. Each track has its own identity and aura without diverging from the promise of great Garage Rock, even if it covers pretty much all possible edges of the genre.

Favorite Tracks: Devil Again, Cruising, They Lie, Kill the Light

Track Listing:

Bass Drum of Death – “Dregs” (3:09)
Apache Dropout – “Constant Plaything” (3:59)
Thee Oh Sees – “Devil Again” (2:48)
King Tuff feat. Gap Dream – “She’s On Fire” (3:32)
JEFF The Brotherhood – “Melting Place” (3:16)
Black Lips – “Cruising” (2:41)
King Khan and Gris Gris – “Discrete Disguise” (4:17)
Mikal Cronin – “Better Man” (4:48)
Mind Spiders – “They Lie” (2:30)
Cheap Time – “Kill The Light” (3:05)
King Louie’s Missing Monuments – “Covered In Ice” (3:05)
OBN Ills – “A Good Lover” (4:17)
The Gories – “On The Run” (2:09)
King Khan – “Strange Ways” (3:33)
Weekend – “Teal Kia” (Demo) (5:43)

Related Links:
Adult Swim’s Music Page