power pop

The Warm Fuzzies: Fuzz of the Month

So, what’s the ‘fuzz’ of the month all about? Why, it’s no other than The Warm Fuzzies’ geek-tastic EP! Released in 2011, The Fuzz of the Month is the band’s planned year-long project, where they release one track per month. However, the holiday seasons must have kept them fuzzy in the pj’s, so the EP fell short of 2 tracks; the released 10 are still great, though.


Once in a while , you come across a band that you just know has that special sound that could make it big if given the right amount of exposure. Popcult is one such band. This four piece crew is comprised of Justin Renaud, Tyler Venter, Alex Halvorson and Brandon Proff. Discreetly titled, 2011, this is the first EP for the group and they're offering it for free in exchange for an email address. It's a pretty good deal since you get a great set of polished indie pop rock tracks that's charming and easy to listen to.

Kit Oh Nein!: KON!

Feel-good psych punk with a touch of indie rock is one way to describe Kit Oh Nein!'s music. The three piece band hails from Detroit/NYC and seems to know their way around the sound. Led by frontman Ryan Milligan from The Hotwalls, KON! (an acronym of the band's name) is the group's debut record. The album contains 10 tracks that run circles around punk, pop, and psychedelic indie rock. Enveloped in raw energy as well as a hazy indie rock club vibe, it's hard to believe the entire set of tracks were recorded in only 3 days. This is one of those debut albums worth checking out if you like dirty, cerebral indie punk rock.

Sweatshirt Weather: With High Hopes EP

Indianapolis natives, Sweatshirt Weather, is more or less a young band, but this doesn't mean they can't hold their own when it comes to beautiful and fun summer pop rock songs. With High Hopes EP was released in BandCamp back in January 2010 but it wasn't until 2011 when the band officially solidified as a group. They were joined by bassist , Chad Kulaga, by this time and faithfully started their journey in the indie music world. Their brand of summer power pop has helped propel them into the spotlight and has allowed them to share the stage with the likes of The Fold and The Bigger Lights.

First Things First: The Brighter Side

If you enjoy power pop bands like The Click Five, Fountains of Wayne or even, The Ataris; First Things First could be your next favorite band. This three-piece Pennsylvania natives have been busting their behinds slowly climbing their way to the top. By promoting themselves and making sure they create the right contacts in the industry, they've managed to become one of the most fastest rising local acts in the pop punk Pennsylavania scene. The Brighter Side is the band's debut EP and comes with 5 great singles. These guys definitely know their strengths and how to play on it, jumping from one seriously catchy track to another.

Rozwell Kid: The Rozwell Kid LP

Rozwell Kid is the brainchild of Jordan Hudkins, a drummer from the band The Demon Beat. For this LP, he took a break from his drumming and tried out his hand at creating alternative electro noise pop. Listening to it now, it seems he's stumbled onto something here. This is his first foray into the solo route and it's proving a success. The Rozwell Kid LP comes with 10 tracks and one bonus single. According to the artist, his goal for the album was "to create the kind of music I love listening to, release it into the wild, and hope it finds an audience who can relate to my passion for thick, noisy power-pop.

The Bear Season: If We Sink Together EP

One of the latest pop punk bands to emerge from Le Pork Records' roster, The Bear Season is a must check out if you love your mix of pop and punk. This six piece crew is a relatively new band, having just formed back in 2010. Despite being newbies in the business, they're definitely showing plenty of promise. Their debut EP is a great mix of catchy, classic power pop tracks that will make you think of Yellowcard and Motion City Soundtrack with a modern touch. If We Sink Together EP comes with 6 tracks and offered absolutely free under a Creative Commons license.

The Appreciation Post: Work?/?Sleep EP

With a penchant for power pop and synth punk beats, The Appreciation Post is bringing in tons of energy with their upbeat sound. The Boston quartet has been around since 2005 and have shared the stage with awesome acts such as Smoking Popes, Mayday Parade, and Anberlin to name a few. Work/Sleep is the third release from the crew and hauls in power pop into play. Their previous records include, Brighter Sides (2006) and Leftovers (2010). The latter was produced by Marc McClusky who's worked with bands like Bad Religion and even indie favorite, Weezer. Armed with catchy beats and tongue-in-cheek lyrics, it's a compilation that can easily become a staple in any college punk rockers room.