The Code are rather fascinated with enigma. Their album cover is a stark white image of a cassette tape, their website and social media accounts do not reveal much about them, and their name as well, is a term associated with secrecy. Perhaps it is to focus all attention to their work rather than themselves, but there is a charm to this air of anonymity which also lingers in their music, intentionally or not.

The duo represents the atmospheric electronic department of R&B, the kind currently spearheaded by artists such as FKA Twigs and The Weeknd. The droning synthesizers, breathy vocals and everything else thrown in on 1|11 revolves around the central intention of creating a cool and airy sensuality. This isn’t an easy feat to achieve, especially when you’re dealing purely with electronic music but tracks like Her – the albums most graceful mood-setter – stand as proof of The Code’s knack for stepping up to the challenge.

The attention to detail and unconventionality of the duo’s production takes only a minute into the album to uncover itself. The Code allow their cloud of mellow strings and hazy synthesizers to occasionally be disrupted by an icy stab of bass or a sudden stutter of beats, taking the greatest care to prevent a track from sounding repetitive.

1|11 stands as a solid debut effort. It’s hard to know whether The Code will continue with this spaced out R&B vibe or further their experimentation on their next project and it hardly matters; what matters is right now. And right now, I want to listen to 1|11 again.

Favorite Track: Her


Track List
01. Motion
02. Gravity (ft.G-Eazy)
03. Her
04. Run
05. 9.46 / Between the lines (ft.Kasflow)
06. Hide
07. Natural
08. Pain
09. Touch (ft.Kaleem Taylor)
10. 22
11. Break

Related Links
The Code’s Website
The Code on Facebook
The Code on Twitter
The Code on YouTube

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.