In the age of the internet, it has become fairly regular for a curious music lover to come upon unusual music every once in a while – whether its a Youtuber that plays EDM on a violin, or an artist on BandCamp that make Minecraft-themed albums. Setting aside the quality of the material, these records give a specific kind of kick based on their originality alone. German electronic duo pornophonique‘s debut 8-bit Lagerfeuer is one such record.


The first startling fact about pornophonique is that they use a Game Boy and a Commodore 64 (1982 computer) to create their trademark 8-bit electronica. The old-fashioned video-game blips and bleeps that every 90s kid may be familiar with are cleverly pieced together to create bright, energetic riffs, while a lone acoustic guitar and vocals are the only accompaniments.

Though it may seem funny and even mocking at times, 8-bit Lagerfeuer is meant to be, more than anything else, a tribute to the retro era of gaming. The lyrics of each track tell a tale or are a monologue by a character from pornophonique’s vivid, video-game themed world. Sad Robot, for example, shows the state of mind of a robot who was once great, but is now “dull and rust”. Take Me To The Bonus Level Because I Need An Extralife, on the other hand, tells of a paranoid player in the deep dungeons of an RPG.

Favorite Track: I Want To Be A Machine


Track List
1. Sad Robot
2. Take Me To The Bonuslevel Because I Need An Extralife
3. Lemmings In Love
4. Space Invaders
5. I Want To Be A Machine
6. 1/2 Player Game
7. Game Over
8. Rock’n’Roll Hall of Fame

Related Links
pornophonique’s Website
pornophonique on Facebook
pornophonique on SoundCloud
pornophonique on YouTube

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.