90s rock

Pope: Fiction

With the indie scene machine constantly giving birth to a new band on such a fast pace, a gridlock can happen. We see the new bands claiming to produce somethin... Read More

The Sorry Shop: Bloody, Fuzzy, Cozy

Don't be fooled by The Sorry Shop, the band really doesn't have anything to be sorry about. Bloody, Fuzzy, Cozy is a brilliant record that showers listeners with fuzzy guitars, hazy vocals and a catchiness you'll only find in most 90s college rock bands. The band is the perfect filler if you've been craving for that sweet noise rock sound where all you hear are warbled lyrics and distorted guitars. Of course, this also means some awesome, catchy rhythm to accompany it. The band delivers all this and a bit more. This is the first full length debut for the group. Their initial release was a short 5-track EP titled, Thank You Come Again.

Fear Report: Pandemic

Judging from the band’s name itself, Fear Report, you could already get a glimpse of what kind of music they have to offer. Fear Report is honest, straightforward, emotional and most of all delivers a 90s rock feel that is rare in today’s scene and genre. Their unique sound comes mainly from their diverse musical influences. From post-hardcore to metal edge to grunge to indie and alternative, this is what Fear Report is. Your ordinary five man rock band but has always something new to bring to the table.

Joanna Gruesome EP – indie noise goodness with a touch of the 90s

If you're expecting something loud and chaotic from this group, then you're in luck. Joanna Gruesome may not be as "gruesome" as their adopted moniker but they certainly know how to be loud, energetic, sweet and unpredictable. Describing themselves as having a "twee" sound, the group knows how to infuse their oftentimes chaotic ensembles with some beautiful and sweet pop music. This Cardiff crew has a knack for making lofi indie basement rock sound so good. This EP is a few years old since it was released back in 2003, but it still shines like new and fits perfectly with today's music.

Farmertan: Brace for the Decline

These Connecticut natives are at it again. This time around, Farmertan, has brought their latest recording in tow, Brace for the Decline. Some of their previous albums include the alternative indie rock compilation, The Extended Play and the acoustic infused, The Softer Side, just to name a few. This 8 track compilation sees the boys doing what they do best; creating indie alternative rock tracks that feature upbeat tempos and nice beats. This record, like most of their releases, are available for free download under a creative commons license. Farmertan is made up of Paul Daddario on Vocals/Guitar; Mike Fitzgerald on Guitar/Vocals; Matt Galvin on Bass Guitar and Jim Plouffe on Drums.